Never say never – going back to school

Not me, but a really cute kid I know, standing in front of my new school.

Not me, but a really cute kid I know, standing in front of my new school.

Never say never as they say. (Who is “they,” by the way?)

Well, even I am learning this. After saying it for years, I am eating my words now. Because, yes, I am going back to school. And not just for anything. For a master’s degree in journalism. That’s right, journalism. The same thing I studied in undergrad.

I said I would never get a master’s degree in journalism since I studied at one of the best journalism schools in the country, graduating with high grades, working in my chosen field for many years, and doing pretty well.

But then Northeastern – my employer – had to go ahead and approve a pretty awesome program. The College of Art, Media, and Design is home to the School of Journalism and its new program “Media Innovation.”

This program, headed up by Wired writer, Jeff Howe, is funded by a grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foun­da­tion. There are five students, including myself; two who recently graduated from undergrad and three who have been in the field for 10-plus years.

The program focuses on web design and development and data visualization. Things that I would have loved to learn when I was in school the first time, but that was a long time ago and not “needed” for journalists. It’s going to be pretty awesome.

Instead of a thesis, we will be working on a major multimedia project for 18-to-24 months. In the end, the hope is that the project will be published in a major media outlet. (Think NPR, New York Times, Boston Globe, the regulars.)

It’s going to be a lot of work – especially considering my twins just started pre-school and we’re all adjusting to new schedules – but in the end, it’s going to be so worth it. I have always loved journalism and I like the idea of being able to keep my toe in it – and get another degree!

Leave a Reply

